iNEMI Webinar: Visual Inspection Criteria for Expanded Beam Connectors


Reading time ( words)

Expanded beam connectors can reduce the impact of contamination on connector loss compared to fiber-based physical contact connectors due to the increased lens surface area compared to the fiber core. However, the technology does not completely eliminate these additional losses. To date, no formal inspection criteria for allowed lens defects, including contamination, have been adopted by the industry for any expanded beam connectors.

Phases 1 and 2 of iNEMI’s Development of Cleanliness Specification for Expanded Beam Connectors project developed a unique approach for visual inspection criteria for cleanliness on multimode expanded beam connectors. iNEMI is now organizing a third phase to develop visual inspection criteria for single-mode expanded beam connectors.

In line with this, iNEMI is inviting the industry to join the call-for-participation webinar to review plans and objectives for Phase 3 of this important project. Two webinar sessions are scheduled, and are open to members and non-members:

  • Session 1: The Americas / Europe: May 31, 11:00 a.m. EDT (US)/17:00 CEST (Europe). Click here to register for this session.
  • Session 2: Asia Pacific: June 6, 11:00 a.m. CST (China)/12:00 p.m. JST (Japan). Click here to register for this session.

Share

Print


Suggested Items

True or False: CFX Edition

02/06/2020 | David Bergman, vice president, Standards and Training, IPC
Early in 2019, IPC published IPC-2591— Connected Factory Exchange (CFX), Version 1.0. This standard was developed by the IPC Connected Factory Initiative Subcommittee over a two-year period to address issues with machine-to-machine communication and provide the electronics manufacturing industry with a true plug-and-play system for any company to achieve Industry 4.0.

Foundations of the Future: Get More Engaged in 2020

01/22/2020 | Charlene Gunter du Plessis, IPC Education Foundation
Since the inception of the IPC Education Foundation in January 2019, the mission remains to create connections between electronics manufacturers and supply chain companies, academia and the emerging workforce. In this debut column, Charlene Gunter du Plessis describes plans for engaging in 2020, including scholarships and more, and the IPC APEX EXPO 2020 STEM Student Outreach event.

CFX Preview at IPC APEX EXPO 2020

01/13/2020 | I-Connect007 Editorial Team
The I-Connect007 Editorial Team chats with IPC’s Chris Jorgensen about the advances CFX has made in the past year and where the standard is in the standardization process. Chris also previews the CFX line that will be on display at the upcoming IPC APEX EXPO and shares IPC’s plans on educating and providing support solutions to potential users of CFX to implement it more easily.



Copyright © 2020 I-Connect007. All rights reserved.