iNEMI Webinar: Visual Inspection Criteria for Expanded Beam Connectors


Reading time ( words)

Expanded beam connectors can reduce the impact of contamination on connector loss compared to fiber-based physical contact connectors due to the increased lens surface area compared to the fiber core. However, the technology does not completely eliminate these additional losses. To date, no formal inspection criteria for allowed lens defects, including contamination, have been adopted by the industry for any expanded beam connectors.

Phases 1 and 2 of iNEMI’s Development of Cleanliness Specification for Expanded Beam Connectors project developed a unique approach for visual inspection criteria for cleanliness on multimode expanded beam connectors. iNEMI is now organizing a third phase to develop visual inspection criteria for single-mode expanded beam connectors.

In line with this, iNEMI is inviting the industry to join the call-for-participation webinar to review plans and objectives for Phase 3 of this important project. Two webinar sessions are scheduled, and are open to members and non-members:

  • Session 1: The Americas / Europe: May 31, 11:00 a.m. EDT (US)/17:00 CEST (Europe). Click here to register for this session.
  • Session 2: Asia Pacific: June 6, 11:00 a.m. CST (China)/12:00 p.m. JST (Japan). Click here to register for this session.

Share

Print


Suggested Items

Goepel electronic Solutions, Webinar Series, and Trends

06/19/2019 | Barry Matties, I-Connect007
Barry Matties catches up with Matthias Müller to chat about the wide range of test and inspection solutions currently being offered by Goepel electronic as well as the informative webinar series produced by the company to help further educate their customer base and promote technical discussion on a number of topics.

Smart Factory Transitions Are Attainable—With a Plan

06/04/2019 | Nolan Johnson, I-Connect007
In a white paper, Zac Elliott, technical marketing engineer at Mentor, a Siemens company, outlines a structured organization for smart factory implementation. While there can be one set of challenges to overcome when building a smart factory on a greenfield site, firms restricted to pre-existing facilities face a different set of hurdles. In this interview, Elliott discusses how things have proceeded since the paper was published, and talks about strategies for smaller firms and brownfield companies.

Co-owner Philip Kazmierowicz on New Role as KIC President

05/23/2019 | Nolan Johnson, I-Connect007
KIC is one of the leaders in reflow and thermal process control and smart oven technologies. On March 25, 2019, KIC announced that Philip Kazmierowicz, company co-owner, would take on the position of president. Nolan Johnson took that opportunity to sit down with Kazmierowicz in his Oregon-based R&D lab to discuss KIC's history and his plans for the future of the company.



Copyright © 2019 I-Connect007. All rights reserved.