Ford, Pedersen, and Tranitz Receive Dieter Bergman IPC Fellowship Award

Reading time ( words)

Three IPC volunteers who have fostered a collaborative spirit, made significant contributions to standards development, and have consistently demonstrated a commitment to global standardization efforts, were presented with Dieter Bergman IPC Fellowship awards at IPC APEX EXPO 2021. Michael Ford, Jan Pedersen, and Peter Tranitz were chosen as award recipients because they embody the work ethic and spirit of the late Dieter Bergman, a pioneer and industry icon. They will bestow Dieter Bergman Memorial Scholarship awards on the university or college of their choice.

Michael Ford, Aegis Software, is an established thought leader for Industry 4.0 and digital smart factories. Serving on 18 technical committees including the Committee Chairman Council, the Connected Factory Initiative (CFX) Subcommittee, Supply Chain Traceability and Trust Subcommittee, and the Technical Activities Executive Committee (TAEC), Ford chose the engineering department of Villanova University, alma mater to the founders of Aegis, as the scholarship recipient, with a specific request that it be used to promote an opportunity for a woman in the industry.

Jan Pedersen, Elmatica, active on 30 IPC committees, is the chair of the IPC-6012 Medical Addendum Task Group and the IPC-6012 Automotive Addendum Task Group. Pedersen led the development of the first IPC document dedicated to automotive electronics – IPC-6012DA, and the first dedicated to medical device electronics – IPC-6012EM.

Pedersen chose a specific project as the recipient of the Dieter Bergman memorial scholarship. Two universities – one in Norway and one in Romania, collaborate to create an arm neuroprosthesis equipped with artificial skin and sensorial feedback for patients with partially amputated limbs. Elmatica has agreed to double the scholarship so that two students will receive the benefit of the Dieter Bergman award.

Peter Tranitz, Continental Automotive, is active on several IPC committees, and co-initiated the Cold Joining Press-fit Task Group and Cold Joining Press-fit Handbook Task Group, serving as co-chair. An expert in press fit technology and tin whiskers, Tranitz was instrumental in developing IPC-9797, High Reliability Press-fit standard.  Tranitz offered his scholarship to the physics department at the University of Regensburg, Germany.              

“The recipients of this year’s Dieter Bergman Fellowship award have brought innovation and international influence on IPC standards development. We are indeed fortunate that they have chosen to volunteer their considerable talents and expertise with IPC and the electronics community,” said John Mitchell, IPC president and CEO.

Related Article:
Jan Pedersen: Dieter Bergman IPC Fellowship Award Recipient



Suggested Items

IPC Supporting Newcomers in the Industry: Notes from IPC APEX EXPO 2021

04/01/2021 | Marc Carter, Aeromarc
With the wrap-up of IPC APEX EXPO 2021, it was extremely gratifying to note the emphasis placed on getting young people involved to combat the “graying out” knowledge losses facing our industry. A part of that emphasis was reflected in the award ceremony on Tuesday, March 9, which featured some people you may have seen mentioned in my “Better to Light a Candle” columns.

Weiner’s World – March 2017

04/03/2017 | Gene Weiner, Weiner International Inc.
The CPCA show held at the China International PCB And Assembly Show was moderately busy even though the new venue was not quite ready (no escalators, the "water closets" not fully finished, the heat was only on for a few hours one day). It showcased products for PCB Manufacturing, Electronic Assembly Materials and Manufacturing Services.

Copyright © 2021 I-Connect007. All rights reserved.