SMTA Technical Committee Dedicated to Strongest Technical Conference Yet

Reading time ( words)

Minneapolis -- The SMTA has formed the SMTA International Technical Committee for 2003.

The SMTA will again co-locate its world-class SMTA International conference (September 21 through 25) with Assembly Tech Expo (ATExpo) in Chicago, Ill., at the Donald Stephens Convention Center.

The 2003 team of industry professionals includes Gerry Adams, Dade Behring; Donald Banks, 3M Co.; Srinivas Chada, Ph.D., Honeywell Electronic Materials; Ron Daniels, Circuitnet -- ITM Consulting; John Evans, Ph.D., Auburn University; Gail Stout Flower, SMT magazine; Rich Freiberger, RF Consultants; Reza Ghaffarian, Ph.D., Jet Propulsion Labs; Ken Gilleo, Ph.D., Cookson Electronics; Steve Greathouse, Intel Corp.; Jeff Kennedy, Manufacturers' Services Ltd.; Julian Partridge, Ph.D., Staktek; Viswanadham Puligandla, Ph.D., Nokia Mobile Phones; Ajit Trivedi, IBM Corp. (retired); and Paul Vianco, Ph.D., Sandia National Labs.

They will be led by veteran conference chair, RadiSys process engineering manager Rob Rowland. Rowland is the primary author of Applied Surface Mount Assembly, and he is also editorial advisory board member of and contributor to SMT magazine. Rowland has conducted classes for the SMTA Academy and the SMTA annual conferences at SMI and SMTA International.

Tracks for this year's conference include Assembly, Business, Components, Emerging Technologies, PCB Technology, and Process Control. New topics for 2003 include Cleaning, Moisture Sensitivity Devices, Connector Issues, Black Pad, 3-D/System in Package/WLD, and Leadless Packaging.

The SMTA membership is a network of professionals who build skills, share practical experience and develop solutions in electronic assembly technologies and related business operations. For more information, visit



Copyright © 2019 I-Connect007. All rights reserved.